The land now called Abuja was originally the south-western part of the ancient Habe (Hausa) kingdom of Zazzau (Zaria). It was populated for centuries by several semi-independent tribes. The largest of the tribes was Gbagyi (Gwari), followed by the Koro and a few other smaller tribes. In early 1800′s when Zaria fell to Fulani invaders, Muhammed Makau, fled south with some followers and his brothers- Abu Ja and Kwaka. Abu Ja succeeded Makau in 1825. The full name of the king was Abubakar, Abu was his nickname. By some accounts his fair complexion earned him the nickname Ja which means red or fair-skinned in Hausa. He became known as Abu-Ja meaning Abu the red or Abubakar the fair one. Other sources say that the Ja is a shortened form of lshaku Jatau, his father’s name. King Abubakar founded the kingdom of Abuja.
Abuja became a major commercial center where goods were exchanged by long distance traders. The inhabitants successfully fought off the Fulani and were not conquered as the neighbouring lands were. In 1902, Abuja was occupied by the British colonial army The British reorganized the kingdoms and called them emirates which means kingdoms in Arabic. Until 1975, it remained a quiet part of Nigeria. The problems associated with the capital being in Lagos, led to the search for a new capital that year. Abuja was selected from amongst 33 possible sites. The criteria used for selection included: centrality, health, climate, land availability and use, water supply, multi-access possibilities, security, existence of resources, drainage, good soil, physical planning convenience and ethnic accord. The Emir of Abuja at the time, Altai Suleiman Bara, was asked to meet with his Emirate Council to approve contributing four of the live districts to Abuja to become the new capital. The council was divided as some districts considered it too much of a sacrifice; but at the end, they approved the request from the Federal Government. Thus, the Abuja in Niger State contributed 80% of the land of the territory Plateau State (Now Nassarawa State) contributed 16% of the South east territory and Kwara State (now Kogi State) contributed about 4% of the s0uth—west territory. The Emirate was then asked to give up the name Abuja for the Federal Capital Territory. Again the council was divided. In the end, they agreed believing that the name of the emirate would become famous throughout the world. The previous town of Abuja was renamed Suleja after the then Emir of Suleiman Barau and Ja the last syllable of the first emirate’s name. Another interesting historical fact is that in the Gbagyi (or Gwan) language, the word Aso means success or victory.
According to tradition, the original inhabitants of the region lived at the base of the rock for centuries without being conquered. The rock was a refuge as well as mystical source of strength. Asoro (Aso Koro) the name of the one of the local areas, therefore, means people of victory. In addition, the term Aso Rock is increasingly being used to refer not only to the physical structure of the most imposing rock in the area, but also as a symbol of government power and a nation.
ABUJA FCT ADMINISTRATION There are six Area Councils in the Federal Capital Territory, each subdivided into wards headed by local councils. The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory is the overall leader and is appointed by the President of Nigeria.
The Three Arms Zone or TAZ is fashioned after Capitol Hill in Washington D.C. where the U. S Congress, the Supreme Court and the White House are within a short distance of each other. In Abuja, the TAZ consists of the Presidential Villa, the National Assembly and the Supreme Court, all surrounded by a ring road.

Towns in Abuja Municipal Area Council

  1. Nyanya
  2. Deidei
  3. Jiwa
  4. Apo Tafyi
  5. Lugbe
  6. Aviation village
  7. Giri
  8. Gausa
  9. Kurudu
  10. Karshi
  11. Gude
  12. Kugbo
  13. Karu
  14. Jikoyi
  15. Wawa
  16. Odu
  17. Kuruduma
  18. Apo
  19. Kugbo
  20. Orozo
  21. Kyami
  22. Kpegyi
  23. Gurku
  24. Kpaduma

The town was found on the 1st of October 1984. It’s one of the oldest town in Federal Capital Territory. Abuja Municipal has 12 wards. Which are Wuse, Orozo, Nyanya, Karshi, and Karu. Others are Kabusa, Jiwa, Gwarinpa, Gwagwa, Gui, Garki, and City Center. The wards are represented by a Councilor each. However, the headquarters of Abuja Municipal is at Garki.


The good thing here is that the food in Abuja Municipal are unique and taste delicious. Als, with its rich nutrient. There are more of the northern food here. they are mostly made from Rice, Millet, and Corn. These foods are Tuwon shinkafa, Tuwon Dawa, Pate, Miyan kuka, Furadanono, Dabinu, Burabisco, etc.


The people of this land dress in different attire. The town is full of different tribe of people. Although it indigene wears Danshiki, Babariga, Turban etc. Others also put on their traditional attires too. And English wears are often use in offices or at work.


The language spoken by indigene are Koro, Gwandara, Ganagada, Gad, Bassa, etc. While other languages are English, French, Spanish, Indian, and Mandarin. These is common among foreigners. Although, Nigerians speak English too. Yoruba, Igbo, Hausa, Ibibio, etc. And other Nigerian language are common in the town.


The way of life here is mixed some are Christian. While others are Muslims. There are few traditional worshipers. Churches, and Mosques are operating fine. And other religion from Indian and China also exist within the city.

Social amenities And Tourist Attraction

The town has Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport, and Five-star hotel. There’s Army, Airforce, Navy and The Nigerian Police Mobile Force headquarters in this town. The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory office, The Arts and Culture Centre and has a mighty single housing estate which is called the Gwarinpa Housing Estate. ECOWAS Court for the President and its Members is also in this town. However, the town is a very secure place to live.


As in the tropics, the FCT experience two weather conditions annually. These are the rainy season (the equivalent of winter in the temperate region) and the dry season (the equivalent of summer in the temperate climate). The rainy season begins from April and ends in October Within this period, there is a brief interlude of harmattan occasioned by the North East Trade Wind, with the main feature of dust haze, intensified coldness and dryness. Fortunately the high altitudes and undulating terrain of the FCT act as moderating influence on the weather of the territory The temperature ranges from 25° C to 30°C. Swimming is always a good idea.
Rainfall in the FCT reflects the territory‘s location on the windward side of the Jos Plateau and the zone of rising air masses. The annual total rainfall is in the range of 1100mm to 1600mm.


The area now designated the Federal Capital Territory falls within the Savannah Zone vegetation of the West African sub-region. Patches of rain forest, however; occur in the Gwagvva plains, especially in the gullied train to the south and the rugged south eastern parts of the territory. These areas of the FCT form one of the surviving occurrences of the mature forest vegetation in Nigeria.

Find this useful? Like, comment and follow myschoolibrary for more.